Relentless in the pursuit of excellence

The Laboratory of Alternative Fuels and Environmental Catalysis (LAFEC), is attached to the Department of Environmental and Pollution Control Engineering, of the Technological Education Institute of Western Macedonia (TEIWM). The laboratory was established in September 2005. Its director is Professor Dr. Maria Goula. LAFEC's main research interests are focused on the following:



Catalysts / Special Issue "Catalysis for Energy Production"


Special Issue Information

Dear Colleagues,

The necessity of replacing fossil fuels (coal, oil, natural gas) and developing greener, more efficient technologies is becoming more intense given the finite nature of fossil resources and the detrimental consequences on climate by increasing greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. The scientific community currently works towards addressing the shortcomings of renewable energy originating from wind, solar, oceans, hydropower, and geothermal.

On the other hand, production of liquid fuels coming from ligno-cellullosic biomass or non edible vegetable oils and animal fats or from (photo)electro reduction of CO2 is a promising direction towards tackling energy issues. In particular, the use of biomass as an energy source leads to decreasing emissions of CO2, NOx, SOx, and particulate matter into the atmosphere. Moreover, the production of hydrogen and syngas from reforming reaction/biomass gasification for power generation and chemicals appears to be the main effort for meeting the goal for biomass-based energy technologies. Synthesis gas (syngas) is a crucial intermediate resource for the petrochemical industry as it is necessary for the production of ammonia and Fischer–Tropsch liquid energy carriers, (e.g., methanol, olefins, paraffins, aromatics and oxygenates). The design and engineering of active catalysts is the enabling key that facilitates such molecular chemical transformations, as those discussed above, towards the desired product (selectivity) for long duration on stream (stability). In some catalytic reactions in situ product removal would allow these reactions to proceed beyond equilibrium. Such a process integration can lead to an ultimate sustainable technology less energy-intensive with much less production of waste. This Special Issue of Catalysts aspires to put together and discuss the current progress and trends in this field.


Manuscript Submission Information

Manuscripts should be submitted online at www.mdpi.com by registering and logging in to this website. Once you are registered, click here to go to the submission form. Manuscripts can be submitted until the deadline. All papers will be peer-reviewed. Accepted papers will be published continuously in the journal (as soon as accepted) and will be listed together on the special issue website. Research articles, review articles as well as short communications are invited. For planned papers, a title and short abstract (about 100 words) can be sent to the Editorial Office for announcement on this website.

Submitted manuscripts should not have been published previously, nor be under consideration for publication elsewhere (except conference proceedings papers). All manuscripts are thoroughly refereed through a single-blind peer-review process. A guide for authors and other relevant information for submission of manuscripts is available on the Instructions for Authors page. Catalysts is an international peer-reviewed open access monthly journal published by MDPI.

Please visit the Instructions for Authors page before submitting a manuscript. The Article Processing Charge (APC) for publication in this open access journal is 1300 CHF (Swiss Francs). Submitted papers should be well formatted and use good English. Authors may use MDPI's English editing service prior to publication or during author revisions.


Keywords: reforming; biomass; syngas; hydrogen; catalyst development; CO2 utilization; renewable energy

Published Papers

This special issue is now open for submission. Deadline for manuscript submissions: 31 May 2019

Guest Editors

Prof. Dr. Maria A. Goula

Prof. Dr. Kyriaki Polychronopoulou